Platform review
Masterworks Review: Fees, Returns and the Fine Print
Single-painting shares at $20 each, behind a fee stack the circulars price at 11% on day one.
44 min read·Updated
Masterworks is the largest fractional art platform and a legitimate one: 530+ paintings bought, each in its own SEC-qualified Regulation A vehicle, no accreditation required, a stated $15,000 minimum the onboarding call lowers to about $2,500. We rate it 2.5 out of 5 because the structure charges more than the asset has returned. The circulars price the wrapper at about 11% on day one, 1.5% a year in new shares and 20% of any profit, with no hurdle. The advertised 17.0% median net annualized return (claimed, July 16, 2026) rests on 29 sales chosen by the manager; the homepage counted 32 by September 2026, about 6% of the works bought, and our own read of the eight exits in the 400 days to July 16, 2026 gives a median of 11.5%. The secondary market “frequently lacks liquidity” by its own disclosure, and its venue shuts on or about December 14, 2026 with no named replacement. The biggest risk is not fraud; it is paying 5.5% a year in fixed costs for an asset whose selection-corrected index return is 6.3%.
What it is and who runs it
This section establishes what Masterworks is as a legal matter, who runs it and which parts are regulated. The answer to “is Masterworks legit” is yes in every sense a regulator checks; the answer to “who is on the other side of my trade” is Masterworks in every sense that matters.
One brand, several companies
The name covers a family of entities that do different jobs. Masterworks, LLC is the operating company and the platform. Masterworks Administrative Services, LLC is the “Administrator” in every offering circular: it sources, stores, insures, appraises and eventually sells each painting, and it collects the fees. Masterworks Advisers, LLC is an SEC-registered investment adviser (CRD 324239), and its investment adviser representatives, who are Masterworks employees, run the onboarding call every new member takes. The paintings sit in numbered issuers. From 2017 to 2023 each painting had its own Delaware LLC, Masterworks 001 onward, running past number 300; since 2023 the issuers have been Delaware series LLCs named Masterworks Vault 1 through, by mid-2026, Masterworks Vault 20, each able to hold several paintings in separate series (Vault 2 was formed May 24, 2023). One layer sits below that, and the circulars are explicit about it: each series holds title to its painting indirectly, through a segregated portfolio of Masterworks Cayman, SPC, a Cayman Islands segregated portfolio company, whose only material asset is the painting.
None of the Masterworks entities is a broker-dealer. The circulars state that neither Masterworks, LLC nor any affiliate involved in selling the Class A shares is a FINRA member, and they carry a risk factor that if Masterworks were found to have acted as an unregistered broker-dealer, shares sold in that period could be subject to a right of rescission. The secondary market has always been run by an outside broker-dealer (see the liquidity section).
Founder, money, size
Scott Lynn founded the company in 2017 and remains its chief executive; he is a technology entrepreneur and a collector of Abstract Expressionism. Tracxn lists three co-founders beside him, Joshua Goldstein, Alberto Simo and Hai Min Tran; Goldstein is the company’s counsel and the SEC’s correspondent on the Vault filings, and Tran is the former executive the company sued in February 2026 (see the risks section). The only outside round we can find is a $110M Series A announced October 5, 2021, led by Left Lane Capital with Galaxy Interactive and Tru Arrow Partners, at a valuation above $1B (TechCrunch, Axios, Crowdfund Insider). Tracxn counted 217 employees in late April 2026, down from the 2022 peak: ARTnews reported in December 2022 that the company had cut more than two dozen staff that year.
The size of the machine is in the filings. The Masterworks Vault 6 Form 1-A (2025) says the platform had bought more than 450 works for more than $1.2B of purchase price as of March 31, 2025; a company release of May 2, 2024 (GlobeNewswire) put capital raised past $1B. The company’s annual performance review of July 16, 2026 counted 1,061,245 members as of June 10, 2026, and the homepage in September 2026 counted 530+ works acquired and 32 sold.
In one sentence: Masterworks is an issuer and asset manager that sells retail investors shares in single-painting companies it creates, prices, administers, appraises and liquidates, taking a fee at each step.
530+
Works acquired (homepage, Sept 2026)
32
Works sold (homepage, Sept 2026)
$1.2B+
Purchase price of works, Mar 31, 2025 (Vault 6 Form 1-A)
1,061,245
Members, Jun 10, 2026 (company review, Jul 16, 2026)
How it works, step by step
This section walks the money from your bank account to a vault and back, and names where Masterworks gets paid on each leg.
1. Sign up and take the call
Anyone with a US bank account, a Social Security number or tax ID and the patience for a phone call can join. The onboarding call is run by a representative of Masterworks Advisers; its stated purpose is suitability, and its practical purpose is to set your per-offering allocation, which is where the stated $15,000 minimum turns into something smaller (see the fee section). You do not need to be accredited: Regulation A Tier 2 opens the offerings to the public, with one limit, a non-accredited investor may put no more than 10% of the greater of annual income or net worth into any Tier 2 offering (SEC Investor Bulletin, Regulation A).
2. The painting is bought before you see it
Masterworks’ research team picks artists whose auction records it judges to be rising and buys a work at auction or privately. Masterworks funds the purchase, drops the painting into a Vault series through its Cayman cell, and files an offering with the SEC on Form 1-A. The shares are sold to members over weeks or months, and the proceeds reimburse Masterworks for the purchase price plus the expense allocation. That is the first place the platform gets paid: the offering size is the estimated purchase price plus approximately 11% (Vault 2 and Vault 5 offering circulars, 2023 to 2025).
3. What you own
You buy Class A shares at $20.00 each, a price the circulars say was “arbitrarily determined by Masterworks.” The share is a membership interest in a Delaware LLC series; the series owns the SPC Ordinary shares of the Cayman segregated portfolio that holds the painting. Masterworks holds Class B shares in the same series carrying a 20% profits interest. You have no vote on when the painting sells; the Administrator decides.
4. While it hangs
The painting is stored, insured and occasionally loaned; there is no income and nothing to reinvest. Each year the Administrator is paid its 1.5% fee in shares rather than cash: the Vault 1 Form 1-K for fiscal 2025 (filed April 3, 2026) describes fee shares issued as SPC Preferred shares, exchangeable one-for-one for Class A, “effectively resulting in dilution of other Class A shareholders of 1.5% per annum.” Valuations are set by Masterworks’ own staff and are the marks you see in your account (SEC staff correspondence on Vault 2, August 2023). Each year you receive a Schedule K-1 for every painting you hold.
5. Trading in the middle
Ninety days after a primary offering closes, you can list shares on the secondary market (Masterworks knowledge base). Until December 14, 2026 that market is the PPEX ATS run by North Capital, and trades settle through a wallet North Capital provides, which is why sellers get a Form 1099 alongside their K-1s.
6. Exit
Masterworks targets a hold of 3 to 10 years, then sells the painting privately or at auction. Proceeds, less selling costs, go pro rata to Class A holders after the fee shares’ preference, and the Class B profits interest takes 20% of the gain above the amount raised. The cash arrives with a K-1 reporting collectibles gain.
IA Take
Treat the onboarding call as a sales call with a regulated person on the other end, because that is what it is. Decide your per-offering size before you dial, ask for the minimum in writing, and do not accept a target return stated to you verbally that you cannot find in the offering circular; the circulars for the current Vaults state no target return at all.
The products on offer now
This section sets out the menu as of September 17, 2026.
There is one product: Class A shares in a Vault series that holds a single painting, sold at $20.00 a share under Regulation A Tier 2. The current issuers are Masterworks Vault 1 through Vault 20; Vault 13 and Vault 17 among others filed new Form 1-As in 2026, and Vault 13’s amended circular (Form 1-A/A, 2026) is the freshest statement of terms we found. Our own daily read of SEC EDGAR full-text search logged 9 new Masterworks offerings and 62 Form 1-U current reports in the 90 days to September 17, 2026.
The artists are the blue-chip names you would expect: the company has sold works by Banksy, George Condo, Cecily Brown, Simone Leigh, Claude Monet, Yayoi Kusama, Pierre Soulages and Andy Warhol, and its offerings have included Picasso and Yoshitomo Nara. Each offering circular gives the purchase price, the artist’s auction history as Masterworks reads it, and the expense allocation; none gives a target return or a sale date.
There is no fund, no diversified pool and no income product; the “diversification” Masterworks advertises is the reader buying shares in several paintings, each with its own K-1 and its own 11% allocation. Two things have ended: the single-painting LLC format gave way to the series Vault format in 2023, and the Templum ATS secondary market ended in January 2025. The PPEX ATS that replaced it ends on or about December 14, 2026 (Form 1-U filings, July 2026).
Minimums as of September 2026: $15,000 stated per offering, lowered on the onboarding call to about $2,500 by the account of Masterworks’ own FAQ and the 2026 reviews; the fee section has the detail.
Self-directed IRAs can hold the shares through Alto IRA and Inspira (formerly Millennium Trust), and Rocket Dollar lists Masterworks as a partner. Masterworks’ own IRA page gives Inspira’s annual account fee as $125; the writer’s draft reported a $50 fee that Masterworks reimburses above $5,000 and $10,000 balance thresholds (unverified at publication). Confirm the fee with the custodian before opening the account.
Minimums, fees and the full cost stack
This section counts every charge in the order it is taken, from the circulars rather than the fee page, then runs $10,000 through the stack.
The stated minimum and the real one
The circulars and the website state a $15,000 minimum per offering, and Masterworks’ own FAQ says the onboarding call is where the amount per offering is discussed. The call exists to lower it. Finder (2026) quotes a company representative saying the $15,000 requirement had been eliminated; FinanceBuzz, WallStreetZen and Moneywise (2026) report $2,500 as what the call typically produces. The minimum is discretionary and the number depends on the conversation. Nothing in the filings prevents a $500 allocation, and nothing guarantees one.
The stack, in order
Expense allocation, about 11%, paid at offering. Each Vault series’ offering size equals the estimated purchase price of the painting plus approximately 11% of that amount (Vault 2 and Vault 5 offering circulars, 2023 to 2025), paid to Masterworks to cover the buyer’s premium it paid at auction, shipping, insurance, legal and offering costs and its own acquisition work. The older single-painting circulars (Masterworks 002 and 003, 2019) called the same charge a “true-up” and capped it at the lesser of 10% or the painting’s appreciation between purchase and offering; the Vault circulars fix it at about 11% regardless. Every $10,000 of shares buys $9,009 of painting at the price the LLC paid. The painting has to rise 11% for you to be level, before anything else.
Administrative fee, 1.5% a year, paid in shares that rank ahead of yours. The Administrator receives SPC Preferred shares equal to 1.5% of the shares outstanding each year, which dilutes you by the same amount. After five years the shares outstanding have grown by a factor of 1.077 and you own 92.8% of the fraction you started with; after ten years, 86.2%. Because the fee is paid in stock it never shows up as a debit on your statement, and 2026 reviews describe it as easy to miss. Two details from the Vault 1 Form 1-K (fiscal 2025) matter more than the rate. The preferred shares carry a $20.00 per share liquidation preference over the ordinary shares, so Masterworks’ accrued fees and expense reimbursements are paid before Class A holders see anything from a sale. And the fee expense is “recorded based on the fair value of the Class A shares,” a fair value set by Masterworks, so the fee income rises with the company’s own marks.
Profits interest, 20%, no hurdle. Masterworks’ Class B shares take 20% of the gain on sale. There is no preferred return before the 20% applies, and because each series holds one painting there is no netting of a loss on one work against a gain on another; a private equity fund’s carry is usually paid only after the whole portfolio has returned capital, and this is not that.
Selling costs at exit, borne by the vehicle. When the painting sells, the seller’s commission and any other sale expenses come out of the proceeds before distribution. The circulars give no fixed rate; auction seller’s commissions of 5 to 10% are normal at the price points Masterworks sells at, and private sales can cost less. We use 10% in the worked example and show 5%.
Secondary-market costs. Masterworks charges no commission to trade on the ATS (platform FAQ; Forbes Advisor, 2026). We found no withdrawal fee on secondary-sale proceeds in the filings or the knowledge base, and the platform does not publish a schedule of wallet fees. Check the wallet terms before you sell.
What the vehicle does not pay. Storage, insurance and ongoing administration are covered by the Administrator out of the fee shares, and the 1-K filings say the Administrator has covenanted to hold cash reserves for one year of the issuers’ estimated expenses. There are no capital calls after the offering.
Adding it up as an annual rate
Spread the fixed charges over the hold and the number is stark. On a five-year hold, the 11% allocation (9.9% of your subscription) costs 2.0% a year, the fee shares 1.5%, and a 10% sale cost 2.0%, for 5.5% a year before the 20% profit share. On a ten-year hold it is 3.5% a year; it takes about 15 years to bring the fixed stack under 3%. Art’s real return since 1900 is about 2.4% a year before costs (Dimson and Spaenjers, 2013), and the selection-corrected nominal index return is 6.3% (Korteweg, Kräussl and Verwijmeren, Review of Financial Studies, 2016). The wrapper charges more than the asset has delivered on average; only picking paintings that beat the average pays the bill.
Invest Alternative arithmetic from the Masterworks Vault 2 and Vault 5 offering circulars (2023-2025): expense allocation of about 11% of purchase price (9.9% of the subscription), 1.5% a year in fee shares, and an assumed 10% selling cost at exit, each spread over the stated hold. September 2026.
The worked example: $10,000, five years
Masterworks publishes no target return, so we use the number it markets, the 17.0% median net annualized return on its exits (claimed, July 16, 2026), as the painting’s gross appreciation, then two lower rates for scale. Assumptions, all changeable: 11% expense allocation; 1.5% a year in fee shares; a 10% selling cost at exit; 20% profit share on the gain above the $10,000 subscribed; federal tax at the 28% collectibles rate plus 3.8% net investment income tax, no state tax. The liquid comparison is an S&P 500 index fund at a 0.03% expense ratio growing at the same rate, taxed at 20% plus 3.8%.
At 17% a year. $10,000 buys $9,009 of painting. After five years at 17% it is worth $19,752. A 10% selling cost takes $1,975, leaving $17,777. Dilution from fee shares reduces your fraction to 92.8%, so your share is $16,501. The profit share takes 20% of the $6,501 gain, $1,300, and you receive $15,201, an 8.7% annual return before tax. Tax at 31.8% on the $5,201 gain is $1,654; you keep $13,547, or 6.3% a year. The painting rose 17% a year and you earned 6.3%.
At 10% a year, a strong decade for blue-chip art: the painting is worth $14,509; after selling cost $13,058; your diluted share $12,121; profit share $424; you receive $11,697 before tax, 3.2% a year, and $11,157 after, 2.2% a year. If Masterworks sells privately at a 5% cost the after-tax figure is $11,525, or 2.9% a year.
At 6.3% a year, the selection-corrected index rate: the painting is worth $12,228; after selling cost $11,005; your share $10,215; profit share $43; you receive $10,172 before tax and $10,118 after. That is 0.2% a year for a painting that did what the honest index says paintings do.
The index fund at 6.3% is worth $13,554 after five years and $12,708 after tax, 4.9% a year; at 10% it is $16,083 and $14,635 after tax, 7.9% a year. Work it backward and the hurdle is precise: for a Masterworks share to match an index fund growing at 6.3%, the painting has to appreciate at about 14.7% a year gross for five years. That is more than double the corrected index, above our 11.5% read of recent exits, and just below the platform’s advertised median.
Invest Alternative worked example, September 2026. Masterworks assumptions: 11% expense allocation; 1.5% a year in fee shares (dilution to 92.8%); 10% selling cost; 20% profit share above $10,000; federal tax at 28% plus 3.8% NIIT. Index fund: 0.03% expense ratio; tax at 20% plus 3.8%. Growth rates: 17% is the platform's claimed median exit (July 16, 2026); 6.3% is the selection-corrected art index (Korteweg et al., 2016).
IA Take
Add up any fractional art offering’s fixed charges as an annual rate over its stated hold: the sourcing markup divided by the years, plus the management fee, plus the expected selling cost divided by the years. If the total is above 3% a year, the wrapper is charging more than art’s entire long-run real return before it has taken its profit share, and you are buying a bet on the manager’s selection, not access to the asset class. At Masterworks’ terms that threshold is not crossed until year 15.
The track record: claimed vs realised
This section separates the number Masterworks advertises from what a filing supports, and why they differ.
What is claimed
The company’s “Masterworks by the Numbers: Annual Platform Performance Review,” published on its own site July 16, 2026 and quoted by AltStreet, WallStreetZen, Forbes Advisor and others, reports 29 exits, all profitable, a 21.6% average and a 17.0% median net annualized return, with individual results from 4.1% (an Andy Warhol held under a year) to 77.3% (a Cecily Brown sold after 259 days, about 55% total). The homepage in September 2026 updated the count to 32 sold and $77M+ distributed to investors, including the amount invested, up from 23 exits and $61M+ in late 2025. The company presents these figures as net of fees, and its exit releases say “net of fees” and “after fees”; one 2026 reviewer (Angel Investors Network) reads the 29-exit figures as before the 20% profit share and dilution. We could not read the review’s methodology, so the 17.0% is labelled claimed and its net-of-fees status is the company’s characterisation.
The claim’s history is consistent. The first exit, Banksy’s Mona Lisa, was offered to members October 21, 2019 at $1,039,000 and sold in October 2020 for $1.5M, a reported 32% net annualized return (Artnet News; PBHFA). The second, George Condo’s Staring Into Space, sold for $2.9M at an estimated 31.7% net IRR (company release, January 21, 2022). ARTnews, updating its December 2022 investigation in March 2023, counted 11 of 118 works sold by December 2022 at 10.4% to 39.3% after fees.
ARTnews (March 2023 update: 11 of 118 works sold by December 2022); Masterworks via third-party reviews (23 exits, late 2025); Masterworks annual platform review, July 16, 2026 (29 exits); masterworks.com homepage as indexed September 2026 (32 sold). Company figures, claimed.
What is realised
Every one of those 32 sales is real money returned to investors, and none, as reported, lost money. That is better than most fractional platforms can show: Rally reports a 6.8% median IRR on 111 exits, 16% of them at a loss (RSE Collection Form 1-K for fiscal 2025, via AltStreet and Angel Investors Network, 2026). But 32 sales against 530-plus purchases is about 6% of the portfolio, and the person choosing which 6% to sell is the person reporting the return. A painting that has fallen in value has no reason to be sold by a manager paid 20% of gains and 1.5% a year of the mark; it stays in the vault, marked by Masterworks’ own staff, and never enters the exit statistics. The 94% that is unrealised is carried at those internal marks, and the marks are what your account shows.
The recent exits are also smaller than the headline. Two reviewers who read the exit notices report a Basquiat sold for about $8M after 1,398 days, about 3.8 years, at a 6.3% net annualized return to investors (Angel Investors Network and AltStreet, 2026), and AltStreet reads the Masterworks 002 filings as showing that the Monet exit’s 9.2% headline IRR was reached only because Masterworks waived its carried interest, without which the investor return would have been about 6.3% (unverified at publication). The Vault issuers’ own Form 1-Ks for fiscal 2025 (filed April 2026) say art-market transaction volumes “remained below prior periods,” which “resulted in fewer portfolio exits and corresponding distributions to investors,” and that reduced realised sales “decreased cash flows from profit participation” for the Administrator.
Our own tape reads the platform’s reported exits rather than its headline. A single read dated July 16, 2026 counted 8 exits in the 400 days to that date and computed our own median exit IRR on them at 11.5%, our construction from the exits the company reports, not an independent count from the filings. The pace of selling is about seven paintings a year against a portfolio of 500, and the recent exits are running well under the all-time median.
of works bought have been sold
The other 94% are carried at valuations set by Masterworks' own staff, and the manager chooses which works sell.
masterworks.com homepage as indexed September 2026: 32 works sold out of 530+ acquired. Company figures.
The benchmark question
Masterworks’ marketing rests on a repeat-sales index that its own offering circulars say shows Post-War and Contemporary art appreciating 13.8% a year from the end of 1995 to the end of 2021 against 10.2% for the S&P 500 with dividends (Masterworks 180, LLC Form 1-A, 2022). Repeat-sales indices count only works that sold twice at public auction; the works that fell in value and never came back are invisible. When Korteweg, Kräussl and Verwijmeren corrected a repeat-sales art index for that selection effect (RFS, 2016), the annual return fell from 8.7% to 6.3% and the Sharpe ratio from 0.27 to 0.11. Dimson and Spaenjers (2013) put art’s real return from 1900 to 2012 at about 2.4% a year before costs. The blue-chip Artprice100 rose 11.2% in 2025 (Artprice, January 2026) and still trailed the S&P 500’s roughly 17% that year; over the ten years to August 31, 2026 the S&P 500 returned about 313% with dividends, roughly 15.2% a year (S&P Dow Jones Indices). The market Masterworks buys in is softer than the pitch: Post-War and Contemporary art was 45% of fine-art auction value in 2025, down from 51% and declining four years running, with Post-War alone down 3% to $3.1B, even as the global art market rose 4% to $59.6B (Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report, March 12, 2026).
Masterworks annual platform review, July 16, 2026 (claimed, on 29 exits); Invest Alternative tape, our own median exit IRR on the 8 exits Masterworks reported in the 400 days to July 16, 2026; Artprice100 calendar 2025 (Artprice, January 2026); Korteweg, Kräussl & Verwijmeren (RFS 2016), selection-corrected nominal; Dimson & Spaenjers (2013), real return 1900-2012.
The hold period, claimed and realised
The circulars say 3 to 10 years. The exits that made the platform’s name were short: the Banksy about a year after its offering, the Cecily Brown in 259 days, the Warhol at the bottom of the range in under a year. Short holds inflate annualized figures, which is why a total return of about 55% on the Brown prints as 77.3% a year. On the other side, most of the 118 works bought by December 2022 were still unsold in September 2026, which puts the median hold for the portfolio as a whole, not the sold subset, past four years and rising. Masterworks publishes no median hold for the 32 sold works; the honest reading is that they were held for less time than the portfolio average, because that is how selection works.
IA Take
Treat Masterworks’ advertised median as a marketing number until its realised exits pass 10% of the works it has bought, because below that threshold the manager chooses the sample. That means 53 sales against 530 purchases; it stood at 32 in September 2026, and the first exit reported at a loss would be the more useful data point, because it would tell you the full sample is being reported.
Liquidity and exits
This section explains why a $20 share in a single painting has no natural buyer, what the secondary market has been, and what changes on December 14, 2026.
The structural problem
A painting has a market: dealers, collectors and the auction houses will bid for it on their own timetable. A four-hundredth of a company that owns a painting has no such market, because nobody who wants a Condo wants a slice of one they cannot hang, and the only people who know what the slice is worth are the manager who appraised it and the other members. Masterworks says this itself: its disclosures state that the secondary market “frequently lacks liquidity,” which in practice means you can list shares and find no buyer at any price you would accept for months. The circulars add no assurance of a buyer, no assurance of a price, and a trade price separate from the company’s own net asset value figure.
The rules
You cannot sell for 90 days after the primary offering closes (Masterworks knowledge base). After that, you list on the ATS; a trade settles into the North Capital wallet; there is no Masterworks commission. No source we found gives volume, spreads or a typical discount to the last offering price, and Masterworks does not disclose them in the filings. Reviews in 2026 describe more sellers than buyers and listings that sit without a bid at a reasonable price (Forbes Advisor; investingintheweb); treat that as unverified customer report. What is verified is the company’s own phrase, “frequently lacks liquidity.”
The venues, and the December 2026 cliff
Secondary trading has always been on a borrowed venue. Templum Markets’ ATS ran it until about January 22, 2025; North Capital Private Securities’ PPEX ATS took over on January 27, 2025 (Form 1-U filings by Masterworks 286, LLC and Vault 5, late 2024; company release, 2025). On June 17, 2026 Masterworks delivered written notice to North Capital terminating those agreements effective on or about December 14, 2026. The Form 1-U current reports filed in July 2026 by Masterworks Vault 1, 3, 4, 10 through 16, 18 and 20 say that after that date holders will not be able to buy or sell through PPEX; that the company “currently intends to arrange for an alternative means of secondary liquidity,” which “may take the form of a bulletin board, a matching service, or another trading or liquidity mechanism”; and that “no assurance can be given” that any alternative will be implemented, be available on the termination date, or “provide liquidity comparable to that historically available through the PPEX ATS, or any liquidity at all.”
That is the full statement as of September 17, 2026. No provider, mechanism or launch date has been named. A bulletin board without a broker-dealer is a noticeboard, not a market. Until a replacement is announced, every Masterworks share should be sized as a hold-to-sale position with a horizon set by the Administrator: the sold works have gone in under a year to about four years, the unsold works bought in 2019 and 2020 are at six and seven, and the reader should plan on the top of the circulars’ 3 to 10.
If Masterworks fails
The paintings are owned by the Cayman segregated portfolios that the Vault series hold, not by Masterworks, LLC, and a bankruptcy of the operating company would not by itself transfer the paintings to its creditors. The Administrator has covenanted to hold a year of the issuers’ expenses in reserve, and its accrued fee shares rank ahead of yours in any liquidation. What would fail is administration, appraisal, storage and the sale process, and an outside liquidator selling 500 paintings into a soft market on a deadline would not achieve Masterworks’ marks. There is no SIPC coverage on the shares; SIPC covers the broker-dealer’s custody of your cash on the ATS, not the value of the painting.
IA Take
Do not buy a Masterworks share before a replacement secondary venue is announced unless you would be content to hold it until the painting sells, and do not count any Masterworks position toward money you might need inside ten years. If a replacement is announced with a named FINRA-member broker-dealer and a regulated ATS before December 14, 2026, the secondary market is back to what it was, which was thin; if only a bulletin board appears, or nothing, the shares are illiquid in the ordinary sense of the word.
Tax treatment
This section gives the forms you will receive, the rate you will pay, and the two traps, because the tax treatment costs more than most readers expect and is the main reason to consider an IRA.
What you receive. Each Vault series is taxed as a partnership, so for every painting you hold you receive a Schedule K-1 (Form 1065) every year, including years in which nothing happens. Ten paintings mean ten K-1s, on a partnership timetable that for many holders means an extension. If you sold shares on the secondary market or earned interest in the wallet you also receive a Form 1099 from the broker-dealer; the same sale can appear on both forms, and you must adjust the 1099 cost basis by the K-1 income to avoid double counting (Masterworks knowledge base, 2026).
The rate. A painting is a collectible under IRC §408(m), and gain on a collectible held more than a year is taxed under IRC §1(h)(4) and (5) at your ordinary rate capped at 28%, not the 15 or 20% that applies to an index fund. Because the vehicle is a partnership, the look-through rule in Treas. Reg. §1.1(h)-1 applies the collectibles rate to your gain on the shares. Masterworks’ own guidance says it plainly: a holder whose ordinary rate is 18% pays 18%, one at 32% pays 28%, and a holder of 10% or more of a single vehicle pays the ordinary rate without the cap. Gains on holds of a year or less are ordinary income at up to 37%. The 3.8% net investment income tax under IRC §1411 applies above $200,000 of modified adjusted gross income for single filers and $250,000 for joint filers, so the practical top federal rate is 31.8%. State tax is on top.
Losses. A loss on a painting is a capital loss that offsets other capital gains and up to $3,000 a year of ordinary income. Masterworks had reported no exit at a loss as of September 2026.
UBTI and state filings. The series hold a painting and no debt, so there is no unrelated business taxable income for an IRA holder and no leverage-driven state nexus. Non-resident and multi-state filing questions are not addressed by Masterworks, so a holder outside the US should ask a preparer.
IRA eligibility. IRC §408(m) prohibits an IRA from investing in collectibles directly, but an interest in a partnership that owns a collectible is treated by the custodians who accept it as permissible, and Masterworks places IRA accounts with Alto IRA and Inspira at the custodian’s annual fee (see the products section). Inside a traditional IRA the 28% rate becomes irrelevant: the eventual distribution is ordinary income; inside a Roth it is untaxed. Given the 28% cap, the K-1 burden and the absence of income, the IRA is the more efficient wrapper, with the warning that an illiquid position in an IRA is still illiquid when required minimum distributions begin at 73.
Section 1031. Since the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 limited like-kind exchanges to real property, there is no way to roll a gain on one painting into another without tax.
Risks, red flags, complaints, lawsuits, regulatory history
This section starts with the risk that ends the investment and then gives the dated public record.
The risk that ends the investor
It is not fraud. Masterworks has filings with the SEC on every painting, audited financial statements in every 1-K, and a broker-dealer between it and your cash on the secondary market; we found no allegation that a painting did not exist or was not owned. The risk that ends the investor is valuation plus illiquidity: the marks are set by Masterworks’ own staff; the manager sells what it chooses when it chooses; and if the works you hold are among the 94% that do not sell, your return is whatever the vault produces on the Administrator’s timetable, minus 1.5% a year of dilution, with no exit you control. Platform insolvency compounds that risk rather than creating it.
The conflict the SEC made them name
On August 8, 2023 SEC staff wrote to Joshua B. Goldstein, the company’s counsel, on the Masterworks Vault 2 offering, and asked that the risk factors discuss the conflicts of interest in greater detail and that the “potential” conflict heading be revised to describe an actual one: appraisals of the paintings are performed by employees of the Administrator. The company responded on August 14, 2023 with Post-Qualification Amendment No. 4 and revised language (SEC CORRESP, EDGAR CIK 1979634), and the circulars filed since carry it. The same firm sources the painting, sets the 11% allocation, marks the value its 1.5% fee is calculated on, decides the sale date and takes 20% of the result. That is legal, disclosed and the whole structure.
Regulatory actions
We found no SEC enforcement action, no FINRA action and no state securities order against Masterworks or any of its entities as of September 17, 2026. The 2023 comment exchange is the only public friction with the SEC we could find, and Masterworks Advisers’ record (CRD 324239) showed no disclosures in the search results we could see; we could not read the IAPD record directly.
Litigation
The only lawsuit we found is Masterworks’ own. On February 5, 2026 Masterworks filed a declaratory-judgment complaint in the Supreme Court of the State of New York, New York County, against Hai Min Tran, an early hire whom Tracxn lists as a co-founder and who became chief marketing officer in 2021 and chief product officer in 2022. Tran’s lawyers had written in December 2025 alleging he was unlawfully terminated on returning from paternity leave; Masterworks’ complaint says he “voluntarily resigned” before the leave, sought to return part-time, and “has threatened to commence a wholly meritless lawsuit,” and it seeks a declaration that he resigned, plus fees and costs (Artnet News; ARTnews; Urgent Matter, February 2026). We could not find the index number or any ruling as of September 2026, so the matter is pending as far as we know. A company that sues a departed co-founder pre-emptively to head off an employment claim is a company run closely from the top, which matches everything else on the record. We found no investor class action.
The 2022 reporting
ARTnews’ investigation of December 27, 2022, based on interviews with more than 20 current and former employees, described a 2022 of conflicting strategies, rifts between management and key teams and “nonexistent human resources practices”; sales tactics that some former staff believed could put the company at risk under SEC and FINRA rules; and, after more than $450M of paintings bought, a cut of more than two dozen staff. Lex Sokolin’s Fintech Blueprint (2022) put the buying at $475M against 400,000-plus registered users and reported marketing spend of about $1M a day (unverified at publication). What matters in 2026 is the business model those pieces described: growth financed by advertising, paid for by the 11% on each new offering, which needs a steady flow of offerings. The 9 we counted in the 90 days to September 17, 2026 say the flow continues.
Complaint patterns
BBB: Masterworks.io, LLC has been BBB-accredited since March 28, 2022 and is rated A+ (profile, September 2026). The complaints we could see concern delays in returning funds after a partial secondary sale and customer service; we could not read the count. Trustpilot: the masterworks.com profile ran to 23 pages and a 4.2 rating as indexed in September 2026, roughly 450 reviews, mostly positive on customer service and onboarding; the recurring negatives are aggressive email marketing, the fee stack and a secondary market with no buyers at a reasonable price (Trustpilot; investingintheweb, 2026). Forums: the Bogleheads thread “Has any one invested with Masterworks?” and Reddit posts are sceptical on fees and liquidity, not on legitimacy. All of this is unverified customer report; none of it alleges missing money.
Who it is for and who should skip it
This section is two lists, specific about the reader’s situation.
Masterworks suits you if:
- You want a deliberate bet on a manager’s ability to pick paintings that beat the art index by 8 points a year or more, and you understand that is the bet, not “access to art.”
- The position is under 5% of investable assets and you can leave it for the full 10 years the circulars allow.
- You would otherwise pay the auction houses’ 25 to 40% round trip to own a work directly and do not care about hanging it.
- You hold it in a Roth or traditional IRA through Alto or Inspira, where the 28% collectibles rate and the annual K-1s stop mattering.
- You are comfortable with a $2,500 to $15,000 slice per painting across several works, and the K-1 for each.
Skip it if:
- You might need the money inside ten years; the secondary market is thin as of September 2026 and has no confirmed venue after December 14, 2026.
- You expect the advertised 17%; the after-fee, after-tax result at that rate is 6.3% a year, and at the corrected index rate it is 0.2%.
- You want income; there is none.
- You dislike K-1s, extensions and per-painting tax reporting.
- You want diversified art exposure; there is no fund, and ten paintings means ten offerings at 11% each.
- You are a non-accredited investor near the Regulation A 10% limit; the call will not tell you when you are.
Alternatives and how they compare
This section puts the assigned competitors and the plain liquid alternative on one table, then says which reader goes where. Figures are as each platform or its filings state them on the dates given; track records are self-reported unless a filing is named.
Table: Fractional art and collectibles platforms compared, September 2026
| Platform | Minimum | Fees | Accredited | Liquidity | Track record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Masterworks | $15,000 stated; about $2,500 after the call | About 11% at offering + 1.5% a year in shares + 20% of profit, no hurdle | No | ATS, thin; venue ends about Dec 14, 2026; 3 to 10 year holds | 32 of 530+ sold; 17.0% median claimed (Jul 2026); our read 11.5% on 8 recent exits |
| Willow Wealth (Yieldstreet) art | $5,000 to $10,000 per direct deal (site, 2026) | Fund-level fees per offering; not disclosed on the page | Yes | No secondary market; multi-year fund life | Art Equity Funds target 15 to 18% (Nov 2021); no realised results published; platform losses over $200M across products (Crowdfund Insider, Jan 2026) |
| Freeport | $20 to $78 a share, 10-share minimum at launch (2023) | 10% procurement + 1.5% a year + 10% at sale | No | Ethereum tokens; no established secondary | Four Warhol prints bought for about $1.7M (2023); no exit found |
| Mintus | $3,000 | Management fee + 1% exit + 20% performance, per memorandum | Yes (UK FCA and US accredited) | None; fund term | FCA-authorised 2022; no published exit found |
| Rally | About $50 | Sourcing markup in offering price; trading fee on secondary | No | 90-day lockup; thin in-app trading | 111 exits of 467 series; 6.8% median IRR, 1.20x, 35-month hold, 16% at a loss (RSE Collection Form 1-K FY2025 via AltStreet); going-concern note FY2025; $350,000 SEC penalty, July 2023 |
| Public.com alts (ex-Otis) | About $20 | 5% at listing + 2% on secondary trades + 10% of profit on liquidation (Otis terms) | No | In-app trading, thin | Otis acquired March 9, 2022; no consolidated exit record published |
| S&P 500 index fund (e.g., VOO) | $1 | 0.03% a year | No | Daily, at NAV | +313% ten years to Aug 31, 2026, about 15.2% a year (S&P Dow Jones Indices) |
Which reader goes where is a question of what you are buying. If the point is exposure to the art market’s average, no platform on the table delivers it at less than the cost of owning a painting, and the index fund wins by the arithmetic in the fee section; a signed edition print bought at auction is the only cheap way to own art. If the point is a bet on a single manager’s selection, Masterworks is the only one with a realised record long enough to argue about, which is the reason to consider it despite the stack. Willow Wealth’s art funds are pooled, which solves the single-painting problem, but they are accredited-only, publish targets rather than results, and sit inside a platform with a September 2023 SEC order ($1.9M; press release 2023-175) and a class settlement. Rally is the honest small-money option: cheap to enter, a 6.8% median IRR its own filings support, a July 2023 SEC settlement for running an unregistered exchange (press release 2023-132), and a parent with a going-concern note. Freeport and Mintus are structures without exits. Public.com is a brokerage with a collectibles shelf, fine for $20 of curiosity.
How to open an account and what to check first
This section gives the real sequence and the six things to read before you wire.
- Create the account at masterworks.com with email, phone and identity details; the KYC check is standard.
- Book and take the onboarding call with a Masterworks Advisers representative. Say your per-offering number before they say theirs, and ask for the minimum they will accept in writing.
- Read the offering circular for the specific painting before funding; it is linked from the offering page and filed on EDGAR under the Vault issuer’s name.
- Fund by ACH or wire; for an IRA, open the Alto or Inspira account first and fund it, then subscribe through it.
- Subscribe to a specific offering; your shares are issued when the series closes.
- Diarise the 90-day lockup end, the K-1 season (expect it after the ordinary April deadline), and December 14, 2026.
The six things to read before wiring money:
- The Form 1-A offering circular for that Vault series, on EDGAR: the purchase price, the offering size, and the sentence that sets the expense allocation. Divide the second by the first and subtract one; the result should be about 11%.
- The fee and dilution paragraph in the same document: 1.5% per annum in SPC Preferred shares, their $20.00 liquidation preference, and the Class B 20% profits interest with no hurdle.
- The risk factors on liquidity, including the “frequently lacks liquidity” language and the PPEX termination statement the July 2026 Form 1-Us carry.
- The conflicts of interest section, revised after the August 2023 SEC letter, on who appraises the painting.
- The latest Form 1-K or 1-SA for an older Vault, for how a painting bought years ago is carried, what the fee shares have done to the share count, and the 2025 language on “fewer portfolio exits.”
- Masterworks’ tax pages on the K-1, the 28% cap, the 10% owner rule and the 1099 overlap, and your own preparer’s fee for adding several K-1s.
The IA view
Masterworks is the most professionally run fractional platform we cover and the one whose structure most reliably converts the asset’s return into the manager’s. Both things are true. The filings are complete, the exits are real, no investor has been reported to lose money on a completed sale, and the machine has bought more than 530 paintings for more than $1.2B behind a marketing engine no competitor can match. Against that, the circulars themselves price the wrapper at about 11% on day one, 1.5% a year in dilution that ranks ahead of you at liquidation, and 20% of the gain with no hurdle: 5.5% a year of fixed cost on a five-year hold for an asset whose honest index return is 6.3% nominal and whose real return over a century is 2.4%. The advertised 17.0% median is a claimed figure on a self-selected 6% of the portfolio; our own read of recent exits is 11.5%; the issuers’ 2025 annual reports record “fewer portfolio exits”; and the secondary market closes on or about December 14, 2026 with a replacement described only in outline. We rate it 2.5 out of 5: legitimate, expensive, illiquid, and suitable only as a sized bet on selection skill.
The rating would move up to 3 or 3.5 on any two of the following: a replacement secondary venue announced before December 14, 2026 with a named FINRA-member broker-dealer and a regulated ATS; realised exits passing 10% of works bought, 53 sales at the September 2026 count, with the full list published including any at a loss; an expense allocation below 8% or a hurdle rate on the 20% profits interest in the Vault circulars; or independent appraisals replacing internal marks. It would move down to 2 if the PPEX termination passes with no replacement, if the Vault 1-Ks begin to show write-downs on works bought in 2021 and 2022, or if a regulator opens a matter on sales practices.
What to watch, with dates: the December 14, 2026 termination and whatever Form 1-U announces a successor; the April 2027 Form 1-K filings for the Vault issuers, for fee-share counts and any change in carrying values; the July 2027 annual platform review, for the exit count against 530-plus and whether any exit is reported below zero; the outcome of Masterworks v. Tran in New York; and the Art Basel and UBS report of March 2027 for whether Post-War and Contemporary auction sales have stopped falling.
This review is research, not investment advice; nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell any security, and you should read the offering circular and consult your own adviser before investing.
FAQ
- Is Masterworks legit?
- Yes. Every painting is held through a Delaware series LLC that files a Form 1-A offering circular, annual 1-K and semi-annual 1-SA reports with the SEC, and Masterworks Advisers, LLC is an SEC-registered investment adviser (CRD 324239). We found no SEC, FINRA or state action against the company as of September 17, 2026.
- What are Masterworks’ fees in total?
- Three charges, from the offering circulars: an expense allocation of about 11% of the painting’s purchase price built into the offering size, a 1.5% annual fee paid in new preferred shares that dilutes you by the same amount and ranks ahead of you at liquidation, and 20% of any profit on sale with no hurdle. Selling costs at exit come out of proceeds; there is no commission on the secondary market. On a five-year hold the fixed charges alone run about 5.5% a year.
- What is the real minimum investment on Masterworks?
- The circulars and website state $15,000 per offering, and Masterworks’ own FAQ says the onboarding call is where the amount per offering is discussed. Third-party reviews in 2026 report that the call lowers it to about $2,500, and Finder’s 2026 review quotes a company representative saying the $15,000 requirement had been eliminated. The minimum is discretionary; ask for it in writing on the call.
- What returns has Masterworks actually delivered?
- As of the company’s July 16, 2026 annual review, 29 paintings had been sold, all at a gain, with a claimed 17.0% median and 21.6% average net annualized return; the homepage in September 2026 counted 32 sold and $77M+ distributed including capital returned. Our own read of the 8 exits in the 400 days to July 16, 2026 gives a median of 11.5%. About 94% of the works bought remain unsold and are carried at Masterworks’ own valuations.
- Can I sell my Masterworks shares early?
- After a 90-day lockup you can list shares on the secondary market, which since January 27, 2025 has been North Capital’s PPEX alternative trading system. Masterworks’ own disclosures say the market “frequently lacks liquidity,” and on June 17, 2026 the company gave notice terminating the PPEX arrangement effective on or about December 14, 2026, with a replacement intended but not named as of September 17, 2026.
- How is a Masterworks investment taxed?
- Each painting vehicle is a partnership, so you receive a Schedule K-1 every year for every painting you hold. Gains on a sale after more than a year are collectibles gains under IRC §1(h)(4) and (5), taxed at your ordinary rate capped at 28%, plus 3.8% net investment income tax above the thresholds; a holder of 10% or more of a single vehicle pays the ordinary rate without the cap. Secondary-market sales also generate a Form 1099.
- Can I hold Masterworks in an IRA?
- Yes, through Alto IRA or Inspira (formerly Millennium Trust), at the custodian’s annual fee; Masterworks’ IRA page gives Inspira’s as $125 (2026), and the reimbursement the platform describes could not be verified at publication. Inside an IRA the 28% collectibles rate and the annual K-1s stop mattering, which makes it the more efficient wrapper for this asset.
- Who values the paintings?
- Masterworks’ own staff. SEC staff wrote to the company on August 8, 2023 asking that its circulars describe the reliance on employees of the Administrator for appraisals as an actual conflict of interest rather than a potential one, and the company revised the language on August 14, 2023. Those marks are what your account shows.
- Has Masterworks been sued or fined?
- We found no regulatory fine or investor lawsuit as of September 17, 2026. The one court matter is Masterworks’ own complaint, filed February 5, 2026 in New York Supreme Court against former chief product officer Hai Min Tran, seeking a declaration that he resigned rather than being terminated after paternity leave; it was pending as far as we could find.
- How long will my money be locked up?
- The circulars target a 3 to 10 year hold and give the Administrator sole discretion over the sale. The sold works have gone in under a year to about four years, but most of the 118 works bought by December 2022 were still unsold in September 2026, so plan on the top of the range and treat the secondary market as a bonus, not an exit.
- Is Masterworks better than buying an S&P 500 index fund?
- Not on the arithmetic unless the painting beats the art index by a wide margin. In our worked example, $10,000 held five years at the selection-corrected art rate of 6.3% nets about $10,118 after fees and federal tax at Masterworks against $12,708 in an index fund growing at the same rate; the painting needs about 14.7% a year gross to match the fund, and at the platform’s claimed 17% median it nets $13,547.
- What happens to my shares if Masterworks goes out of business?
- The paintings belong to the Cayman segregated portfolios held by the Vault series, not to Masterworks, LLC, so a failure of the operating company would not transfer the works to its creditors, and the Administrator has covenanted to hold a year of the issuers’ expenses in reserve. What would break is administration, appraisal and the orderly sale process; a liquidator selling 500 paintings on a deadline would not achieve Masterworks’ marks, and there is no SIPC coverage on the value of the shares.
Sources & method
All figures are as of September 17, 2026 unless a date is given in the sentence or caption. Fee terms, the share price, the expense allocation, the fee shares and their liquidation preference, the Cayman holding structure, the profits interest, the FINRA non-membership language, the 2025 annual-report language on exits and the PPEX termination come from Masterworks’ offering circulars, Form 1-K and Form 1-U filings on SEC EDGAR as indexed by web search, re-verified by this desk on September 10, 2026 (for the fractional-art guide) and September 17, 2026 (this review, before the desk’s shared search budget ended); direct page fetches were blocked, so quotations are as search results returned them. Exit counts, returns and member numbers are Masterworks’ own figures and are labelled claimed; the 11.5% median is our own construction from the eight exits the company reported in the 400 days to July 16, 2026. Figures marked “(unverified at publication)” could not be verified before the budget ended; the Tran index number, the BBB complaint count and the exact Trustpilot count could not be read. A 1.5% fee on secondary-sale withdrawals in the writer’s draft was cut: no filing, FAQ or review we could read supports it. The unsold 94% of the portfolio is unrealised, at Masterworks’ internal marks. Complaint material is unverified customer report.
- Masterworks filings
- Masterworks Vault 2, LLC and Vault 5, LLC offering circulars, SEC EDGAR (2023 to 2025) · Masterworks 002 and 003, LLC Form 1-A (2019) · Masterworks 180, LLC Form 1-A (2022: repeat-sales index claim) · Masterworks Vault 6, LLC Form 1-A (2025) · Masterworks Vault 13, LLC Form 1-A and 1-A/A and Vault 17, LLC Form 1-A (2026) · Masterworks Vault 1, LLC Form 1-K for fiscal 2025 (April 3, 2026: SPC Preferred fee shares, liquidation preference, reserve covenant, fewer portfolio exits) · Masterworks Vault 4, LLC Form 1-K (April 13, 2026)
- Secondary market
- Form 1-U current reports by Masterworks Vault 1, 3, 4, 10 to 16, 18 and 20, LLC (July 2026: PPEX termination) · Masterworks 286, LLC and Vault 5, LLC Form 1-U (late 2024: Templum to PPEX) · Masterworks and North Capital release (EIN Presswire, 2025) · Templum and Masterworks release (PR Newswire, 2023) · Masterworks knowledge base, When will I be able to trade my shares (90-day waiting period; North Capital wallet)
- SEC correspondence
- SEC staff comment letter of August 8, 2023 to Joshua B. Goldstein on Masterworks Vault 2, LLC and the CORRESP response of August 14, 2023 with Post-Qualification Amendment No. 4 (EDGAR CIK 1979634)
- Company figures, claimed
- Masterworks Academy, Masterworks by the Numbers: Annual Platform Performance Review (July 16, 2026), as reported by AltStreet, WallStreetZen, Forbes Advisor, TraderHQ and Finbold (2026) · masterworks.com homepage as indexed September 2026 · Angel Investors Network (2026: 23 exits and $61M+ in late 2025; Basquiat exit) · AltStreet, Masterworks review (2026: Monet and Kusama exits as read from EDGAR) · GlobeNewswire (January 21, 2022: George Condo exit) · Artnet News and PBHFA (Banksy Mona Lisa, 2019 to 2020) · Masterworks FAQ and knowledge base (liquidity, minimum, hold period, tax and IRA pages) · Masterworks, Understanding Your IRA Investment Options (Inspira fee)
- Corporate history and press
- TechCrunch, Axios, Crowdfund Insider, Built In NYC and citybiz (October 5, 2021: Series A) · GlobeNewswire, Masterworks Surpasses $1 Billion in Capital Raised (May 2, 2024) · ARTnews, Rising Startup Masterworks Beset by Internal Rifts, Alleged Recklessness, and Staff Cuts (December 27, 2022; updated March 2023) · Lex Sokolin, Fintech Blueprint, Digital Wealth: Trouble at Masterworks (2022) · Tracxn (employees, late April 2026; founders) · Crunchbase and Forbes Councils (Scott Lynn profile)
- Litigation
- Artnet News, Art Investment Platform Masterworks Sues Key Former Staffer (February 2026) · ARTnews, Art Investing Startup Masterworks Files Legal Complaint Against an Early Hire Over Lawsuit Threat (February 2026) · Urgent Matter, Court Documents: Masterworks Sues Ex-CPO Over Leave Dispute (2026)
- Regulation A and adviser status
- SEC Investor Bulletin, Regulation A (Tier 2 terms; Forms 1-A, 1-K, 1-SA, 1-U) · SEC Investment Adviser Public Disclosure, Masterworks Advisers, LLC (CRD 324239; SEC file 801-127158) · Masterworks how-it-works page
- Complaints
- Better Business Bureau profile, Masterworks.io, LLC (as indexed September 2026) · Trustpilot, masterworks.com (as indexed September 2026) · investingintheweb, Masterworks review (2026) · Bogleheads forum, Has any one invested with Masterworks? (thread 430306)
- Art market and academic
- Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2026 (Clare McAndrew, Arts Economics; March 12, 2026) · Artprice, Artprice100 2025 (January 2026) · Korteweg, Kräussl and Verwijmeren, Does it Pay to Invest in Art? A Selection-Corrected Returns Perspective, Review of Financial Studies 29(4), 2016 · Dimson and Spaenjers, The Investment Performance of Art and Other Collectibles (2013) · S&P 500 total return, ten years to August 31, 2026 (S&P Dow Jones Indices, as used across this hub)
- Competitors
- Willow Wealth site and Art Equity Fund pages (2021 to 2026) · Crowdfund Insider (January 2026: rebrand; investor losses) · SEC press release 2023-175 (Yieldstreet, September 2023) · Crowdfund Insider, Forbes and Decrypt (Freeport, May to June 2023) · Mintus site, WealthBriefing and Amicorp case study · AltStreet and Angel Investors Network on RSE Collection, LLC Form 1-K FY2025 (Rally exits; going-concern note on RSE Markets Inc.) · SEC press release 2023-132 and order 34-97878 (RSE Markets Inc., July 2023) · TechCrunch (March 9 and September 28, 2022: Public.com and Otis) · FinanceBuzz and Yieldtalk (Otis fees)
- Tax
- IRC §1(h)(4) to (5) · IRC §408(m) · Treas. Reg. §1.1(h)-1 · IRC §1411 · Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 (§1031) · Masterworks knowledge base, How will my investment be taxed? and the K-1 and 1099 guides (2026)
- Our own tape
- Invest Alternative radar, src/data/radar/live.json: art.masterworks_1u_filings_90d 62 and art.masterworks_offerings_90d 9 (SEC EDGAR full-text search, read daily September 1 to 17, 2026); art.masterworks_exits_400d 8 and art.masterworks_exit_irr_pct 11.5 (single read, July 16, 2026); art.artprice100_level 91.7 (December 31, 2024) and 101.97 (December 31, 2025)
Invest Alternative has no affiliate, referral or advertising relationship with Masterworks, holds no position in it or in any offering on it, and earns nothing if you open an account. If that changes, this line will say so.
Nothing here is investment advice. The offerings described are illiquid, costly to hold, and can lose all of their value; the tax treatment described is general and US-specific. Read the offering documents and speak to a professional before committing capital.